There were so many things I wanted to write about since Friday, Now that it’s Sunday evening I can’t get myself to write any of them.

Friday I visited a friend who is a national speaker in “Creative” Real Estate investor circles. (He said he’s putting on monthly boot-camps. along with speaking all over the country marketing his product. Brutal schedule if he’d ask me, but he didn’t….)

Based on the conversation we had, I know he doesn’t read my blog, so I guess I don’t need to fear too much about hurting his ego.

I was involved in his first two bootcamps (couple of years ago) and I though his venue has gotten better, but not the event.

John Maxwell was also in town for a brief talk on Saturday. He’s a best selling author of such books as Thinking for a Change and Failing Forward.

Mind you this was NOT a regular John Maxwell event.. A simple little talk in a local church.

So I’m not even comparing apples to apples.

I’ve never heard John speak before. I read some of his books, subscribed to his newsletter, but I can’t say I have ever read it. I went with expectations to get a book signed, and maybe take him for a cup of coffee.

This is how it played out:

Smiling friendly people greeted me at the parking lot provided me with directions to the place where John was going to speak.

As soon as I walked in I was greeted by another friendly person who was managing a table full of John Maxwel’s books.

I’m ushered into the sanctuary and took my seat amongst mostly young Myers Park people.

Preacher gets on the pew and states John has only 40 minutes to speak then 10-15 minutes to sign a few books and he’s got to boogie out to catch a flight to one of those sunny named cities in either FL or CA.

John Maxwell rolls into town like he owns the place. Gives a feel good speech (nothing earth-shattering.) and sells a whole bunch of books.

I’ve been thinking about what I have learned from these 2 interactions I had.

Is it their expecations from themselves. Or is it the “purpose” of their product. As in when developed was it to benefit the buyer or the seller.

Maybe both.

One Response

  1. credit card merchant account

    ka-ka-sh-ka 3855475 This page contains some info about credit card merchant account

Leave a Reply

